6 November 2013

Review: THE STONE BOY, Sophie Loubiere

  • Format: Kindle (Amazon)
  • File Size: 670 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (October 1, 2013)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BU1DG2C
  • Published in French in 2011 as BLACK RIVER (The child with Pebbles). The book has won at least 3 awards.
  • translated by Nora Mahony 2013 
Synopsis (Amazon)

When the elderly Madame Préau returns to her own house after several years spent in a convalescent home, she immediately notices that the neighbourhood has changed. A new family has moved in next door and, from her window, she watches their three children playing in the garden after school.

Two of the children seem perfectly healthy, but Madame Préau is struck by the third child, who seems listless and stands apart from the others. When she reports this to social services, they refuse to believe her. Cut off some years ago from her own grandson, she begins a mission to help this boy, even when those around her start to fear for her sanity.

The Stone Boy is an award-winning and darkly atmospheric psychological thriller from a critically acclaimed French author. Packed with shocking twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Barbara Vine and Erin Kelly, Madame Préau's story will hold you entranced until the very last page.

My Take

Madame Preau speaks with some authority on the matter of children, or so it seems. She is a long retired ex-headmistress, and certainly a person who is very alert to ill-treatment of children. But what is the medication that her son prescribes for her, why was she in the convalescent home for so long, and why does she have a weekly appointment with her GP?

Elsa Preau seems to have little difficulty in getting the authorities to listen to her, but that is as far as it gets - she can't substantiate her claims about seeing an abused child in the garden next door, and eventually she has to try to get the evidence herself.

The plot of THE STONE BOY abounds with little mysteries, and solving them is rather like peeling onion skins. It is an engrossing read with plenty of meat to keep the reader occupied.

Although Sophie Loubiere is the author of five novels, this is the first available in English.

My Rating: 4.6

1 comment:

Margot Kinberg said...

What an interesting-sounding plot, Kerrie! I must definitely put this one on my list. Thanks


Blog Widget by LinkWithin