26 January 2019

Australia Day - Australian Children's authors honoured

Australia Post has added 5 popular children's authors to its Australian Legends series.
The 2019 legends – Mem Fox AM, Morris Gleitzman, Leigh Hobbs, Alison Lester and Shaun Tan – ­will each have their portrait featured on new postage stamps which forms part of the 2019 Australian Legends of Children’s Literature stamp issue.

Now in its 23rd year, the Australia Post Legends Award celebrates living Australians who have made a unique contribution to the nation through their field of endeavour, inspiring the community and influencing the way Australians think about themselves and the community.

Past recipients include Sir Donald Bradman, Dame Joan Sutherland, Barry Humphries, Sir Gustav Nossal, Dame Elisabeth Murdoch, Cate Blanchett, Stephanie Alexander, Rod Laver and Bert Newton. A complete list of recipients can be found at www.auspost.com.au.

2010 Australian Legends of the Written Word
Peter Carey AO
Bryce Courtenay AM
Thomas Keneally AO
David Malouf
Colleen McCullough AO
Tim Winton

1 comment:

Clipping Path said...

Lovely blog. Thanks for sharing with us.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin