30 September 2013

Crime Fiction Alphabet 2013: Z is for Zane Lovitt

Following a pattern established in 2012, my contributions to the Crime Fiction Alphabet in 2013 will mainly feature authors or books that I have read recently.

My choice today is MIDNIGHT PROMISE by Zane Lovitt,  the winner of the 2013 Ned Kelly award for best first fiction.
  • first published by Text Publishing 2012
  • ISBN 9-781921-922930
  • 283 pages
  • subtitled: a detective's story in ten cases
  • contains 'Leaving the Fountainhead', winner of the SD Harvey short story award at the 2010 Ned Kelly Awards.
Synopsis (Publisher)

John Dorn is a private investigator. Just like his father used to be. It says ‘private inquiry agent’ in John’s yellow pages ad because that’s what his old man called himself, back before his business folded, his wife left him and he drank himself to death. 

But John’s not going to end up like his father. He doesn’t have a wife, or much business. He doesn’t really drink, either. Not yet. 

In each of these ten delicious stories Zane Lovitt presents an intriguing investigation filled with humour and complex, beautifully observed characters. At their centre is John Dorn, solving not so much crimes as funny human puzzles; but the crimes, and the criminals, are forever lurking nearby, taunting him from the city’s cold underworld.

It’s his job to unravel the mystery, or right the wrong, or just do what the client has hired him to do. Somehow, though, there is a misstep at every turn, and John takes another small stumble towards his moment of personal truth. His midnight promise. Perhaps even his redemption.

See my review

See what others have chosen for the letter Z

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Kerrie - An excellent way to end up this meme. Thanks for taking us all for another great ride :-).


Blog Widget by LinkWithin