6 September 2013

Forgotten Book: THE GREEN MILL MURDER, Kerry Greenwood

My plan this year for my contributions to Friday's Forgotten Books hosted by Pattinase  is to feature books I read 20 years ago - in 1993- from the records I have in my "little green book", which I started in 1975.
In 1993 I read 111 books and was pretty well addicted to crime fiction by then.

Kerry Greenwood, recently given Australian Sisters in Crime Inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award, is now well known, even outside Australia, for her Phryne Fisher series.  THE GREEN MILL MURDER is #5 in the series. The title was published in 1993.

The original books are available on Amazon in paperback and for Kindle.

Synopsis (publisher)

Dancing divinely through the murder and mayhem of her fifth adventure, the elegant Phryne Fisher remains unflappable.

Gorgeous in her sparkling lobelia-coloured georgette dress, delighted by her dancing skill, pleased with her partner and warmed by the admiring regard of the banjo player, Miss Phryne Fisher had thought of tonight as a promising evening at the hottest dancehall in town, the Green Mill.

But that was before death broke in. In jazz-mad 1920s Melbourne, Phryne finds there are hidden perils in dancing the night away like murder, blackmail and young men who vanish.

Phryne Fisher's fifth adventure leads to smoke-filled clubs, a dashingly handsome band leader, some fancy flying indeed across the Australian Alps and a most unexpected tryst with a gentle stranger.

Independent, wealthy, spirited and possessed of an uninhibited style that makes every one move out of her way and stand gawking a full five minutes after she walks by Phryne Fisher is a woman who gets what she wants and has the good sense to enjoy every minute of it!' Davina Bartlett, Geelong Times

A reminder too to Australian readers that the second Phryne Fisher series (6 episodes newly written) begins on the ABC tonight, Friday 6 September

Phryne Fisher
1. Cocaine Blues (1989)
     aka Death by Misadventure
2. Flying Too High (1990)
3. Murder on the Ballarat Train (1991)
4. Death at Victoria Dock (1992)
5. The Green Mill Murder (1993)
6. Blood and Circuses (1994)
7. Ruddy Gore (1995)
8. Urn Burial (1996)
9. Raisins and Almonds (1997)
10. Death Before Wicket (1999)
11. Away with the Fairies (2001)
12. Murder in Montparnasse (2002)
13. The Castlemaine Murders (2003)
14. Queen of the Flowers (2004)
15. Death By Water (2005)
16. Murder in the Dark (2006)
17. Murder on a Midsummer Night (2008)
18. Dead Man's Chest (2010)
19. Unnatural Habits (2012)
20. Murder & Mendelssohn (2013)


Anonymous said...

Kerrie - Oh, I like this series!! I'm so glad you featured one of these novels on FFB. And I can't wait until that series is available on this side of the Pacific...

Anonymous said...

Cheers to Kerry Greenwood. I'm so glad that she won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Although I haven't read the Phrynne Fisher books, I have read some featuring the unique Corinna Chrpman, and her eccentric housemates.

And I respect her other work outside of writing.

Congratulations to her.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin