24 March 2011

Forgotten Books: MURDER IN PARADISE & SEA FEVER, Ann Cleeves

Friday's Forgotten Books this week is being hosted by the improvisatory and impulsive Todd Mason.

This week I want to point you to a series that should not be forgotten, but that many people would be unaware of.
It is a series that Ann Cleeves, better known for her "Shetland" series, published over a 10 year period.

I've only read two of the series, some years apart, but really should look for more.
Just last week I reviewed MURDER IN PARADISE and on that page you will also find a mini-review of SEA FEVER.

At the beginning of the series George Palmer-Jones, a public servant, and an elderly birdwatcher, is on the verge of retirement. His love of twitching takes him all over the UK, and his twitching nose involves him in a series of murder investigations, sometimes leading him into dangeous situations. In some titles his wife Molly accompanies him.

1. A Bird In The Hand (1986)
2. Come Death and High Water (1987)
3. Murder In Paradise (1988)
4. A Prey To Murder (1989)
5. Sea Fever (1991)
6. Another Man's Poison (1992)
7. The Mill On The Shore (1994)
8. High Island Blues (1996)


Anonymous said...

Kerrie - Thanks for this. I don't know nearly enough about this series, and it's nice to be "introduced." :-).

George said...

I love that cover on SEA FEVER. I'll have to track that down!


Blog Widget by LinkWithin