27 May 2010

Forgotten Book: THE GREENWAY by Jane Adams

This week's edition of Friday's Forgotten Books is being hosted by George Kelley.

THE GREENWAY (published 1995) was Jane Adams' debut novel, and became the first book in the Mike Croft series. It was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Award in 1995 and for the Author's Club Best First Novel Award.

Cassie still has nightmares about that day in 1975 when she and her cousin Suzie took a short cut through The Greenway. For somewhere along this path Suzie simply vanished. Also haunted is John Tyson, the retired detective once in charge of Suzie's unsolved case.

I remember being terrifically impressed with this book when I read it in late 1996. It made it to Australia in paperback sometime then. My face to face discussion group also really enjoyed it. I had been to England a couple of times by then and was fascinated by the idea of walking tracks that spanned the country.

Jane Adams has continued on with her writing, moving from one series to another, and now has 19 novels published including a new one in 2010 - RESOLUTIONS.

Mike Croft
1. The Greenway (1995)
2. Cast the First Stone (1996)
3. Fade to Grey (1998)
4. Final Frame (1999)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Kerrie - That's the beauty of this Forgotten Books series; it reminds one of all kinds of fine books one hasn't read in a long time. Thanks for this one : ).


Blog Widget by LinkWithin