16 July 2009

I am not always right - CWA International Dagger

My final verdict on the CWA International Dagger Shortlist yesterday put the winner Fred Vargas right out of the running. In my defence, I did say it was a very hard one to pick!

But it has been announced overnight that for the third time in four years, writer Fred Vargas and translator Sîan Reynolds have triumphed in the Crime Writers’ International Dagger, this time with the first in the series of Adamsberg novels, The Chalk Circle Man.
That win is an incredible achievement.

The other awards announced saw Michael Robotham a bridesmaid yet again when Colin Cotterill won the Library Dagger.
Sean Chercover has won this year’s CWA Short Story Dagger with his story One Serving of Bad Luck


Peter Rozovsky said...

The lesson is don't bet against Fred. Johan Theorin's book seemed to be the favorite among bloggers I know, and that book did get a special commendation.

Also, it's interesting that the last translated book to win the Gold Dagger before a separate award was created for translated crime was "Silence of the Grave," by Iceland's Arnaldur Indriðason. In the four years since, in the midst of a boom in Nordic crime writing, every International Dagger winner has been from France.
Detectives Beyond Borders
“Because Murder Is More Fun Away From Home”

Kerrie said...

I really thought THE CHALK CIRCLE was not as good as her later books. I also have a problem when International has to mean "translated" - but then we Aussies are odd aren't we?

Kenneth said...

I understand that there is now a movement underway to dub the 1991 French classic "Delicatessen" into English in an attempt to secure an Oscar best movie nomination for 2010. Can you confirm this? Ken

Peter Rozovsky said...

Adding to the confusion, Kerrie, is that the first year the CWA split the award into separate "international" and "gold" awards, Peter Temple won the gold.
Detectives Beyond Borders
"Because Murder Is More Fun Away From Home"


Blog Widget by LinkWithin