12 September 2009

Crime Fiction writer up for a Booker?

The six authors on the shortlist for this year's Man Booker Prize are AS Byatt, JM Coetzee, Adam Foulds, Hilary Mantel, Simon Mawer and Sarah Waters.

I thought it worth bringing the announcement of the short list to your attention because not only are there people on the list who have won a Booker before, but it includes a crime fiction writer.

AS Byatt won the Booker Prize in 1990, JM Coetzee is up for a hat-trick if he wins, and crime fiction author Sarah Waters has not only been short listed twice before, but she's also won the CWA Ellis Peters Dagger Award for Historical Crime Fiction as well as a swag of other awards.

Places to check

So have you read any of these? I haven't. What would you recommend or shall I just read the Sarah Waters?

Do you remember who won last year's? I called it crime fiction.

1 comment:

Luanne said...

Read the Wates and then we can talk about the ending.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin